Library of Congress

Authorities & Vocabularies

The Library of Congress > Linked Data Service > LC Demographic Group Terms (LCDGT)

From Library of Congress Demographic Group Terms

Southern Africans

  • Residents of Africa south of Congo (Democratic Republic) and Tanzania. For residents of South Africa see [South Africans.]

  • URI(s)

  • Instance Of

  • Scheme Membership(s)

  • Collection Membership(s)

  • Broader Terms

  • Sources

    • found: Work cat.: The bed book of short stories, ©2010:introd. p. 11 (writers from Southern African countries) pp. 306-311 (author biographies; authors from Zambia, South Africa, Mozambique, Zimbabwe, Botswana, Malawi, Namibia) p. 4 of cover (stories by women from southern Africa)
    • found: Britannica online, Jan. 28, 2016(Southern Africa, southernmost region of the African continent, comprising the countries of Angola, Botswana, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, Swaziland, Zambia, and Zimbabwe. The island nation of Madagascar is excluded because of its distinct language and cultural heritage)
    • found: New world encyclopedia online, Jan. 28, 2016(Southern Africa is the southernmost region of the African continent, defined by the United Nations scheme of geographic regions as consisting of the following five countries: Botswana; Lesotho; Namibia; South Africa; Swaziland. Many scholars argue that the U.N. definition of Southern Africa is too limiting and does not properly express geographic and cultural ties in the region. These individuals support a broader definition of Southern Africa that includes the following countries, as well as those found in the U.N. definition: Angola--also included in Central Africa; Mozambique and Madagascar--also included in Eastern Africa; Malawi, Zambia, and Zimbabwe--sometimes included in Southern Africa and formerly of the Central African Federation; Comoros, Mauritius, Seychelles, Mayotte, and Réunion--small island territories in the Indian Ocean east of the African mainland. Occasionally the Democratic Republic of the Congo and Tanzania are included in discussions of Southern Africa, though they are more commonly reckoned in Central and Eastern Africa respectively.)
    • found: Southern African Development Community website, Jan. 28, 2016:about SADC (The Southern African Development Community (SADC) is a Regional Economic Community comprising 15 Member States: Angola, Botswana, Democratic Republic of Congo, Lesotho, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Seychelles, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Zambia and Zimbabwe. Established in 1992, SADC is committed to Regional Integration and poverty eradication within Southern Africa through economic development and ensuring peace and security.)
    • found: 50013624: Tracey, H. Ngoma : an introduction to music for southern Africans, 1948.
    • found: 2006003186: Writing in the San/d : autoethnography among indigenous southern Africans, ©2007.
    • found: 2002202108: Saspost : a newsletter of opportunities and information for Southern Africans in North America, 1972-
    • found: Divided diasporas : southern Africans in Canada, 2013.
  • General Notes

    • Residents of Africa south of Congo (Democratic Republic) and Tanzania. For residents of South Africa see [South Africans.]
  • Example Notes

    • Note under [South Africans]
  • Change Notes

    • 2016-01-28: new
    • 2016-05-11: revised
  • Alternate Formats