Library of Congress

Authorities & Vocabularies

The Library of Congress > Linked Data Service > LC Name Authority File (LCNAF)

From Library of Congress Name Authority File

Belaruskai︠a︡ Narodnai︠a︡ Rėspublika

  • URI(s)

  • Instance Of

  • Scheme Membership(s)

  • Collection Membership(s)

  • Variants

    • BNR
    • BDR
    • Belarusan Democratic Republic
    • Belarusian Democratic Republic
    • Belorussian Democratic Republic
    • Belorussian National Republic
    • Belarusan National Republic
    • Bielaruskaja Narodnaja Respublika
  • Additional Information

    • Related Terms

    • Exact Matching Concepts from Other Schemes

    • Sources

      • found: Dalidovich, Henrykh. BNR i BSSR, 2002:p. 4 (BNR; Belaruskai︠a︡ Narodnai︠a︡ Rėspublika)
      • found: Historical dictionary of Belarus, 1998:p. 50-51 (Belarusan Democratic (also National) Republic (BDR;BNR)[Bielaruskaja Narodnaja Respublika--BNR; a Belarusan state proclaimed by the Council (Rada) of the Belarusan Democratic Republic in February--March 1918; in November 1920 the government of the BDR transfered itself to Kaunas, Lithuania. The government in Belarus itself was replaced by the Belarusan Soviet Socialist Republic)
      • found: Democratic Republic, 1917-1918. 1917: In March, the Russian Revolution causes Tsar Nicholas II to abdicate. In November, Lenin's Bolsheviks seize power. In December, the First All-Belarusan Congress in Miensk proclaims a republican government in Belarus and is disbanded by Bolsheviks in 1918: on March 9, the Executive Committee of the Council of the First All-Belarusian Congress declares a Belarusan Democratic Republic. 1919-1921: The Russo-Polish War results in the partitioning of Belarus between the Byelorussian Soviet Socialist Republic and Poland. 1921-1939 - Byelorussian Soviet Socialist Republic (BSSR) is established with its capital in Minsk. The short renaissance of Belarusian culture in 1920-1928 is choked by Stalin's executions and mass deportations to Siberia of 1930-ies. Polish secret police start prosecuting Belarusian political organizations in Western Belarus occupied by Poles)
      • found: Belarus and Moldova, 1995:p. 18 (On March 25, 1918 the Central Executive Committee of the All-Belarusian Congress nullified the Treaty of Brest-Litovsk which had put most of Belorussia under German control and proclaimed the independence of the Belarusian Democratic Republic. The Byelorussian SSR was established on January 1, 1919 by force of arms. Under the terms of the Treaty of Riga Belorussia was divided into three parts: the western portion was absorbed into Poland; central Belorussia which formed the Belorussian SSR; and the eastern portion which became part of Russia. The Belorussian SSR was incorporated into the Soviet Union in 1922)
      • found: 1918 - Grodno in the Belorussian National Republic)
      • notfound: LC data base, 11-24-03 (hdg.: Byelorussian S.S.R.)
    • Editorial Notes

      • [SUBJECT USAGE: This heading is not valid for use as a subject. Works about this place are entered under Belarus.]
    • Change Notes

      • 2003-11-24: new
      • 2009-08-09: revised
    • Alternate Formats