Library of Congress

Authorities & Vocabularies

The Library of Congress > Linked Data Service

From Library of Congress Name Authority File

Vermont. Supreme Court

  • URI(s)

  • Instance Of

  • Scheme Membership(s)

  • Collection Membership(s)

  • Variants

    • us: Vermont. Supreme Court of Judicature
  • Additional Information

    • Exact Matching Concepts from Other Schemes

    • Sources

      • found: Dean, C.B. The trial of Cyrus B. Dean, for the murder of Jonathan Ormsby and Asa Marsh, before the Supreme Court of Judicature of the state of Vermont ... 1808: p. 35 (Supreme Court)
      • found: LC manual cat. (hdg.: Vermont. Supreme Court; usage: Supreme Court, Supreme Court of Judicature)
      • found: Phone call to Vermont State Archives and Records Admin., May 7, 2014 (before the merger of the court into one body, the court would meet in separate counties to perform their functions, e.g., Caledonia County Supreme Court; do not establish at the county level)
      • found: Vermont Judiciary website, May 7, 2014 (In 1777, the first Vermont Constitution provided that "courts of justice shall be established in every county in this state." At its first session in 1778, the General Assembly created special temporary courts to hear cases until a Superior Court was established at a later legislative session that same year. In 1782, the Vermont court system was reorganized. Courts in each county were established with one Chief Judge and four or five Assistant Judges elected by county voters. The Superior Court was abolished, and the Supreme Court was created. The five judges of the Supreme Court were elected annually by ballot of the Legislature. Supreme Court Judges met once in each county during the year. Although the Supreme Court and the county courts heard many of the same types of cases, cases tried in the county courts could be appealed to the Supreme Court. The Vermont court system was reorganized again in 1825. Although voters in each county continued to elect two Assistant Judges, the Supreme Court Judges became the presiding judges in county courts. Each Supreme Court Judge traveled to various counties during the year to hear cases. In addition to their individual duties in county courts, the Supreme Court Judges continued to serve as the Vermont Supreme Court when all the Judges sat together for Supreme Court terms. Supreme Court Judges were required to preside in county courts until 1906. In 1906, the General Assembly increased the number of judges and separated their functions. The Supreme Court consisted of four judges. Terms were held in Montpelier, so that Supreme Court Judges no longer had to travel to the county courts. In 1908, the size of the Supreme Court was set at five judges and has remained the same since then. In keeping with modern practice, the judges of Vermont's highest court are now called justices)
    • Change Notes

      • 1982-12-04: new
      • 2014-05-08: revised
    • Alternate Formats