Library of Congress

Authorities & Vocabularies

The Library of Congress > Linked Data Service > LC Name Authority File

From Library of Congress Name Authority File

us: Rayburn, Sam, 1882-1961

  • URI(s)

  • Instance Of

  • Scheme Membership(s)

  • Collection Membership(s)

  • Variants

    • us: Rayburn, Sam Taliaferro, 1882-1961
    • us: Rayburn, Samuel Taliaferro, 1882-1961
  • Additional Information

    • Birth Date

    • Death Date

    • Gender

    • Associated Language

    • Birth Place

        Roane County (Tenn.)
    • Death Place

        Bonham (Tex.)
    • Has Affiliation

        • Organization: Texas. Legislature. House of Representatives
    • Organization

        Texas. Legislature. House of Representatives
    • Has Affiliation

        • Organization: United States. Congress. House
    • Organization

        United States. Congress. House
  • Exact Matching Concepts from Other Schemes

  • Earlier Established Forms

      Rayburn, Sam Taliaferro, 1882-1961Rayburn, Sam Taliaferro,1882-1961
  • Sources

    • found: U.S. Congress. House. Committee on Interstate and Foreign Commerce. Bureau of war-risk insurance ... Report ... 1917.
    • found: Biographical Directory of the United States Congress, via WWW, November 8, 2013 (Rayburn, Samuel Taliaferro (1882 - 1961); a Representative from Texas; born near Kingston, Roane County, Tenn., January 6, 1882; moved to Fannin County, Tex., in 1887 with his parents who settled near Windom; attended the rural schools and was graduated from the East Texas Normal College, Commerce, Tex., in 1903; studied law at the University of Texas at Austin; was admitted to the bar in 1908 and commenced practice in Bonham, Fannin County, Tex.; member of the State house of representatives, 1907-1913, and served as speaker during the last two years; elected as a Democrat to the Sixty-third and to the twenty-four succeeding Congresses and served from March 4, 1913, until his death; chairman, Committee on Interstate and Foreign Commerce (Seventy-second, Seventy-third, and Seventy-fourth Congresses); majority leader (Seventy-fifth and Seventy-sixth Congresses), minority leader (Eightieth and Eighty-third Congresses); elected Speaker of the House of Representatives September 16, 1940, to fill the vacancy caused by the death of Speaker William B. Bankhead; reelected Speaker in the Seventy-seventh, Seventy-eighth, Seventy-ninth, Eighty-first, Eighty-second, Eighty-fourth, Eighty-fifth, Eighty-sixth, and Eighty-seventh Congresses; died in Bonham, Tex., November 16, 1961)
  • Change Notes

    • 1983-06-20: new
    • 2013-11-12: revised
  • Alternate Formats