Library of Congress

Authorities & Vocabularies

The Library of Congress > Linked Data Service

From Library of Congress Name Authority File

Warden, Florence, 1857-1929

  • URI(s)

  • Instance Of

  • Scheme Membership(s)

  • Collection Membership(s)

  • Variants

    • us: James, Florence Alice Price, 1857-1929
    • us: Price, Florence Alice, 1857-1929
    • us: Author of The house on the marsh, 1857-1929
    • us: House on the marsh, Author of The, 1857-1929
  • Additional Information

  • Exact Matching Concepts from Other Schemes

  • Earlier Established Forms

    • James, Florence Alice (Price), 1857-1929
  • Sources

    • found: Her Nurse Revel's mistake, 1889: t.p. (Florence Warden)
    • found: LC in OCLC, 6/27/84 (hdg.: James, Florence Alice (Price), 1857-1929; usage: Florence Warden)
    • found: At the circulating library, via WWW, 8 November 2016 (Florence Warden, 1857-1929; real name: Florence Alice Price (maiden name) James (married name); sister of novelist Gertrude Warden; author of many novels, including The House on the Marsh (1883), The White Witch: A Novel (1884), At the World's Mercy (1884), A Dog with a Bad Name: A Novel (1885), A Prince of Darkness (1885), A Vagrant Wife (1885), Doris's Fortune. (1886), Scheherezade: A London Night's Entertainment (1887), A Woman's Face: A Romance (1888), A Witch of the Hills: A Novel (1888), St. Cuthbert's Tower: A Novel (1889), The Fog Princes (1889), Nurse Revel's Mistake (1889), City and Suburban: A Novel (1890), Those Westerton Girls (1891), Pretty Miss Smith: A Novel (1891), A Wilful Ward: A Novel (1891), Ralph Ryder of Brent (1892), Highest References (1892), A Shock to Society (1892), A Passage Through Bohemia (1893), A Young Wife's Trial (1893), A Terrible Family (1893), Grave Lady Jane: A Novel (1893), A Wild Wooing: A Novel (1893), My Child and I: A Woman's Story (1894), A Perfect Fool (1894), A Scarborough Romance: The Strange Story of Mary Glynde (1894), Adela's Ordeal (1894), Kitty's Engagement: A Novel (1895), A Spoilt Girl: A Novel (1895), The Woman with the Diamonds: A Novel (1895), A Lady in Black: A Novel (1896), Doctor Darch's Wife: A Study (1896), Our Widow: A Novel (1896), Two Lads and a Lass and Other Stories (1896), The Mystery of Dudley Horne (1897), Girls will be Girls (1897), The Inn by the Shore: A Novel (1897), The Girls at the Grange: A Novel (1897), Dolly the Romp (1897), The Master-Key (1898), Girls will be Girls (1898), Little Miss Prim: A Novel (1898), A Sensational Case (1898), Joan, the Curate (1898), The House on the Sunless Side (1899), The Secret of Lynndale: A Novel (1899), The Bohemian Girls: A Novel (1899), A Very Rough Diamond (1899), The Farm in the Hills (1899), The Love that Lasts (1900), The Plain Miss Cray (1900), A Lowly Lover (1900), Town Lady and Country Lass (1900), A House with a History (1901), The Lovely Mrs. Pemberton (1901), A Fight to a Finish (1901), Morals and Millions (1901), Once too Often (1901), and others)
    • found: A dictionary of English authors biographical and bibliographical, 1904: page 359 (Florence Warden, that is, Mrs Florence Alice James; born Florence Alice Price at Hanworth, Middlesex, 16 May 1857; went on stage 1880, retired 1885)
    • found: At the world's mercy, 1884: title page (At the world's mercy, by the author of "The house on the marsh," etc.)
  • LC Classification

    • PR4821.J3
  • Change Notes

    • 1984-08-13: new
    • 2016-11-10: revised
  • Alternate Formats